Friday, February 7, 2014

Super Seahawks, Sochi are you ready? Richard Sherman and other sides.....


Superhawks

You might have heard by now that the Seattle Seahawks have given the state of Washington the title of champions for the first time since former NBA Supersonics beat the then Washington Bullets (now Washington Wizards) when the dynamic duo of Gus Williams and MVP Dennis Johnson beat the very same team the Sonics lost to in the finals the previous year.  Dennis wasn't finished being a menace after helping the Sonics win the franchise's first and only championship title back in 1979, nope, Johnson went on and collected two more NBA titles while in the final stretch of his professional career with the Boston Celtics.  I point this out merely because of my Celtics pride and also that the Dennis Johnson and I share the world's greatest first name.  How’s that for name dropping!  
The 12th man rejoices on the Space Needle now that Seattle is Super.
All nonsense aside, the Seahawks broke out the beating stick and I can now say that 12th man and their Hawks brick wall defense of 2013 can be honestly called the “legion of boom”.  They earned the title, both in verbiage and with the hardware to back it up by winning the Seahawks first and only Lombardi Trophy. My only gripe is that I and many others still think Seattle cornerback Richard Sherman “…the best corner in the game!!! (His words not mine) is the saddest sore winner ever to grace the NFL gridiron.  A class act par none and truly a stellar example of how to act professional, to think he’d learn his lesson from only a couple weeks earlier when he lost his mind in an interview with Erin Andrews after beating the San Francisco 49ers in the NFC title match.  
My name is Richard Sherman and I like yelling!
Sherman unwittingly bashes the game again after he and his team dropped the hammer on the Denver Broncos in Super Bowl XLVIII and stays ever classy by saying “The NFC Championship was the Super Bowl” and that “The 49ers were the second-best team in the NFL.”  Now while I believe number 25(Richard Sherman) is driven by self notoriety and attention seeking comments like this one, I can’t say I completely disagree with him on his latest greasy tout.  The Seahawks were as I like to say strictly diesel, they punched every opponent they played in the mouth even when they lost, and Seattle lost to only three teams all year, the Arizona Cardinals, Indianapolis Colts and 49ers are the only teams that can say their team was able to beat Seattle during the regular season.  Here's some food for thought, the Seahawks beat the very team that they used to play in the same division for back when Seattle was still in the AFC West and rivals with the Denver.  Seems like Seattle gets the last laugh.

So let the Seahawks green and blue skittles rain down from the Seattle sky like the confetti did in New York (technically New Jersey) because Beast Mode Marshawn Lynch and Carroll and company were able to prove that smash mouth football can still reign supreme in today's pass happy NFL.  I will keep it short when I speak about Manning and the Broncos because the major sports news networks have said enough about how great this 2013 Broncos team was statically. I'll end it with this, in a year where many talking heads thought Peyton Manning would walk off with his second Super Bowl Trophy after his Broncos ran over the 9th easiest schedule in the NFL this season to rewrite a plethora of offensive records only to get trucked themselves by losing in embarrassing fashion with a final score of 43 to 8.  You know it's sad as a fan when the only thing you can get excited about it your team going to the 2 point conversion ouch!
In Russia we have special touch for decorating.
Now our sports addition is now turned to the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics where the security is strange as the toilets stalls with no dividers, as the late great Hunter S. Thompson might say, the air is thick with fear and loathing instead of what is suppose to be a time of togetherness and nationalism.  If you searched google.com today you’d see the trademark website logo in colors of the rainbow in support of gay pride and human rights with this quote from the Olympic Charter "The practice of sport is a human right.  Every individual must have the possibility of practicing sport, without discrimination of any kind and in the Olympic spirit, which requires mutual understanding  with a spirit of friendship, solidarity and fair play."  This is clearly a response to USSR I mean Russian President Vladimir Putin who has human rights beliefs that date back to a time when Russia still had Czars running the country.  Putin's most recent attempt to look civil was back in late December when Nadezhda Tolokonnikova and Maria Alyokhina two members of the Russian feminist punk rock group Pussy Riot after 21 months of imprisonment for "Hooliganism" were released, but this one example hasn't convinced the world over that Putin has changed.  
Pussy Riot jamming out in Moscow.
His tricky tactics are dirtier then the toxic tap water that many of the journalist covering the Olympic games have been complaining about.  However, with all the negative noise emulating and the constant coating of doom and gloom accompanied by treats of violence from terrorist organizations will hopefully remain just that, grim puffery.  So that when we look back at these Sochi Winter Olympic games, the only thing that stands out will be the intense competition and some slight tension between two old Cold War rivals.
Steven Stamkos #91.
In Olympic hockey news Tampa Bay Lighting forward Steven Stamkos was removed from team Canada in regards to the previous injury he sustained back in November when the 23 year old Tampa star suffered a broken right tibia.  The strange thing about it all was that Stamkos seemed to be on the road to good health, leaving Stamkos and the rest of the hockey world taken aback by the move. "I was a little surprised ," he said "It was a little shocking."  Shocking eh? No team Canada eh?  Guess not.
My boy Martin St. Louis #26.
   What's not shocking is who's replacing Stamkos, Martin St. Louis, which means evidently the lighting does strike twice in Tampa.  The 38 year old veteran will be taking his teammate's spot on the team Canada Olympic roster and heads over to Russia after initially being snubbed by team Canada probably just because of his age.  St. Louis has gone on a tear since first learning that he wasn't invited to the Olympics racking up eight goals and 15 points in only 15 games accompanied by a four-goal highlight reel performance  against San Jose on January 18.  Despite being removed however for injury concerns by the Tampa Bay medical staff Stamkos was still happy for his teammate "I'm very excited for Marty," Stamkos said.  "He deserved to be on the team since day one.  He's going to go over there and prove why he deserves a spot on this team."  I wonder if Richard Sherman would be as gracious if he were in a similar position?
Leave it to Ron Burgundy.
As this blog entry comes to a close I want to mention a interesting side note about game against the San Jose Sharks when Martin St. Louis scored his four goals.  Team USA's and San Jose Sharks forward Joe Pavelski also lit up the lights in that January 18th match up when the Lightning and Sharks meet up down in Tampa.  Pavelski pulled off his first career hat trick that night and helped the Sharks win a nail biter 5-4.  That's my way of plugging my favorite hockey team, I know I know blasphemy for a guy that hails from New England, but that's a story for another day.  I really bring this up in hopes that it's a sign of things to come for team USA in the men's hockey tournament over in Sochi.  I'll leave you with this..... As Ric Flair would say "Woooo!!!"  It's time to trade that silver for gold this time around team USA!  Diesel out. 
Go Team USA!!!


2 comments:

  1. the legion of boom is only as consistent as their illegal supply of adderrall

    ReplyDelete
  2. I wonder how many of them truly have an ADD or ADHD issue because you're right that whole topic was swept under the table. What I find funny is that they admitted to stealing offensive signals and no one has a problem with that but when the Patriots did it they were out of control and cheating. I just think it's amusing when you look at it all.

    ReplyDelete